

Contents lists available at ScienceDirect

The Veterinary Journal



journal homepage: www.elsevier.com/locate/tvjl

The Veterinary Journal Literary Prizes 2016

The George Fleming and Andrew Higgins Prizes for 2016 have been announced. The winners are as follows:

George Fleming Prize

The George Fleming Prize, instituted in 1965, commemorates the founder of *The Veterinary Journal*, Professor George Fleming (1833–1901), and is awarded for the paper that is considered to be the most meritorious published in the Journal each year. In 2016, the winner is **Dr Daisuke Hasegawa**, of Nippon Veterinary and Life Science University, Tokyo, Japan (corresponding author: disk-hsgw@nvlu.ac.jp) for his article entitled '**Diagnostic techniques to detect the epileptogenic zone: Pathophysiological and presurgical analysis of epilepsy in dogs and cats**' (*The Veterinary Journal* 2016, 215, 64–75; doi: 10.1016/j.tvjl.2016.03.005).

Andrew Higgins Prize

The Andrew Higgins Prize recognises Dr Andrew Higgins, who was Editor and subsequently Editor-in-Chief of *The Veterinary Journal* from 1990 to 2015. The prize was established by Dr Higgins in 1992 as the Junior Scientist prize and was renamed the Andrew Higgins Prize in 2016. It is awarded as an encouragement to younger workers and is given to the best paper published during the year whose principal author is a graduate within five years of his or her first degree. In 2016, the winner is **Dr Hakyoung Yoon**, of the College of

Veterinary Medicine, Konkuk University, South Korea, for her paper entitled '**Diffusion tensor imaging of white and grey matter within the spinal cord of normal Beagle dogs: Sub-regional differences of the various diffusion parameters**' (*The Veterinary Journal*, 2016, 215, 110–117; doi: 10.1016/j.tvjl.2016.03.018). This paper was published together with co-authors Noh-won Park, Jaehwan Kim, Yun-Mi Ha, Won-Jin Moon and Kidong Eom (corresponding author: eomkd@konkuk.ac.kr).

Notes

Prize-winners are chosen by the Editors of *The Veterinary Journal*, who consider those papers published in issues of the Journal during that calendar year. The value of each prize is £500. Authors are welcome to cite the award within their curricula vitarum and to publicise the results. The Editors would like to send their warmest congratulations to the winners for providing papers of excellence in a world-class field. This Announcement will appear online on the Journal's website (www.elsevier.com/locate/tvjl).

Adrian W. Philbey, Annette L. Litster Co-Editors-in-Chief E-mail address: adrian.phibey@ed.ac.uk